APC wins Imo by-election


By Peter Okolie

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Mr Blyden Okanni of the All Progressives Congress (APC), as the winner of the Ngor Okpala State Constituency by-election in Imo.

Prof. Dennis Akoh, the INEC Returning Officer for the election,  announced this in Owerri on Sunday.

Akoh said that Okanni polled 9,248 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mr Emeka Nwachukwu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 7,161 votes.

Ballot boxes
Ballot boxes used for elections in Imo and other parts of the country

Akoh, a professor at the Federal University, Ndufu-Alike Ikwor (FUNAI) in Ebonyi, said the candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Mr Christopher Nwaiwu placed third with 501 votes.

He said out of the 11 candidates that contested the by-election, the only female and candidate of the National Rescue Movement (NRM), Mrs Joy Nze, got 15 votes.

The returning officer said a total of 18,083 voters were accredited for the poll, out of a total of the 94,118 registered voters in the area.

He said the total valid votes cast were 17,280, while 582 votes were rejected. (NAN)(www.nannews.ng)

The post APC wins Imo by-election first appeared on News Agency of Nigeria.

See also  MY HEART IS FILLED WITH JOY💃💃💃 Mercy Chinwo Sister😍 celebrates with baby powder "I'm Now an AUNT🥳"

PAY ATTENTION: Share your Outstanding story with our editors! Please reach us through Editor - click here

About Solomon Yoyo 10648 Articles
My name is Yoyo Solomon popularly known as SLON, I am an assertive person, a Developer,media personnel, publisher and CEO of www.theowlnews.com.ng and a person willing to serve humanity. You can reach me via: WhatsApp +2348112044593

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.